Development of Serpent 2

General information etc.
Jaakko Leppänen
Site Admin
Security question 2: 0

Development of Serpent 2

Post by Jaakko Leppänen » Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:51 pm

I have been working on the next version of Serpent for several months now, and I think it's time to open the topic for discussion. The source code is basically being re-written from scratch, and the main reason for this is that there are some fundamental flaws in the strucure of the present version that make it very difficult to develop new features while keeping everything together. Serpent 1 has about six years of history now, during which new capabilities have been constantly added on top of existing calculation routines, without any grand vision on how things should look as a whole. The code has a lot of undocumented and obsolete features that only make things complicated without adding any value, and significant effort has been put to discovering things that don't really work in practice.

Starting everything from zero allows me to take into account all the lessons and best practices learned from the previous work. One major thing is the wasteful use of computer memory. The use of the unionized energy grid and pre-calculated material-wise cross sections allows the simulation to run very fast, but the excessive memory demand limits the number of materials in burnup calculation. At first this wasn't a big issue, since the code was mainly intended for 2D lattice calculations. Now it seems, however, that the trend is towards larger systems with thousands of depletion zones. Another major limitation is that Serpent cannot use shared memory in parallel calculation mode (threading), which seriously limits the applicability in clusters and multi-processor workstations. There are also some important capabilities still missing (gamma transport, etc.), and the implementation of the calculation routines becomes much easier starting from scratch.